My alternate life!


There are times I think about alternate lives. Lives where I could be a dancer, writer, poet and so much more. Some people do exactly that. In a single life. In fact, we are all aware that we could do much more in a single life than what we currently do whether we take the time to admit it or not.

Every single day I think about what I want to do with my life and whether I am doing all the things needed to step towards that goal; Whether I have it in me to do whatever it takes, no matter what.

Every single day I think about how I can overcome my limitations to become a better version of me while wondering how long it’s going to take.

I am thinking about happiness and success. VJ says:

It all looks so funny now. I think I had fallen for the common bait. I fell into the trap of ‘he’s a rich and famous businessman so learn from him’. Thats the propaganda in a way. The media makes the heroes. They decide whom to elevate and whom to relegate. We duly subscribe to their ideas and buy the autobiographies of Sam Walton, Jack Welch, Tiger Woods and Sachin Tendulkar.

Mad Hatter says:

If I could turn back the hands of time and I was just wondering “What if I could really change something in the past?” and I already knew the answer. If I really want to change something in the past, I need not travel back in time. I would change it now.

I have thought about it too. Countless number of times. The single question I have when I think about going back in time is whether I am aware that I’m going back in time. Whether I am the same person as I am now or the person I was before.

In both cases I don’t think I’ll enjoy it although I used to think I could change this single little thing and my life would be all better. Like the move and switching of school I agreed to in my adolescence. Or the degree I chose to do in college. Or the single chromosome that swam inside me and caught me unawares.

Case 1: If I am not aware of going back in time or if I am the same person I was before, it’s out of the question. What good would it do if there is a high probability that I might make the same choices and do the same things all over again?

Case 2: If I am aware of the time travel backwards and/or I am the same person as I am now, it’s still not worth it because knowing that I am better than I was before, I’d rather focus on moving forward and shaping things in the present than wasting my time in the past.

It reminds me of Richard Bach.

“You are always free to change your mind and choose a different future, or a different past.”

I think I have already chosen to do exactly that. By becoming the architect of my own future I am rewriting my past. Aren’t we all?

Dad: What do you want to be when you grow up?
5 year old: I think I want to be a teacher. So I can order kids around and see them do what I ask them to. It’ll be fun!

Mom: Why do you want to write the architecture exam? It’s going to be difficult.
12 year old: I think I’ll have a good time designing buildings and shaping things or just taking this exam!

Dad: So you’re saying you don’t care who you get married to? Any religion? Any profession? What if he’s just a cook?
19 year old: I don’t care if he’s a cook. I’d care if he’s just a cook – as long as he does fun things and let’s me have fun!

Of course, I wasn’t this articulate. Not when I was 5, 12 or even 19. Often, not even now. But the only thing I have cared about is having fun. The only other thing I care about now in addition to having fun is for that fun to matter. To myself. To others. To the world someday.

“You are never given a wish without being given the power to make it true. You may have to work for it, however.”

I may not truly and completely understand my own wishes and it is a fact that my wishes will keep changing. But one thing that has never changed is my desire to have fun in life. That happens to be my wish in life. And I know I’ll always be striving to fulfill that. Always.

3 thoughts on “My alternate life!

  1. Finding my rhythm and tuning to the right note is a life long task for me :).
    Thanks for visiting, Mad Hatter and Yaaro! Always get a high when a new comment notification pops up!

Leave a Reply

