Pineapple India


“India is like a pineapple; rough, thorny and ugly on the outside but a juicy fruit on the inside”

But only if you have the time & patience to carry yourself through the discomforts. Even after you get to the fruit, you cannot just eat it. You always have to make sure there are no thorns or rough edges. You cannot afford to make mistakes.

 

Often, I struggle to grasp things and want to yell at and kick everything that doesn’t work. I have gotten much better though and overcome my first world virus. Almost. Yes, I am calling it a virus. Something all Indians carry when they return to India after getting used to the first world comforts.

Such as:

  1. Regulated life style
  2. Non-bumpy roads
  3. Clean drinking water
  4. Good health care
  5. Great food

There is a reason why yoga is from India. It fits the Indian life style, Indian way of thinking and reflects the mentality of Indian people. Everything about yoga. Meditation too. There is India written all over them. Yoga is about preventing diseases and shunning any aliens in case they’ve already invaded your body. You cannot become a body builder or wrestler just by doing yoga.

It’s been ages since I did yoga, but I think I’ve been doing meditation even without intending: taking care of my toddler. I’m not a big fan of stand-alone meditation, so when I say taking care of my toddler is like meditation, I’m not saying taking care of him is so awesome. I’m not saying meditation is bad either. I don’t know if it is good or bad.

What I think I’m trying to say is that I am forced to take a deep breath, analyze and rethink my steps and actions every 3 minutes I’m with my son. That’s the duration of his attention span. Sometimes a few seconds less or more. Mostly less. I find it very hard but I deal with it. That’s meditation to me. Trying hard to focus all the attention on a single task at hand (and sometimes even succeeding) when the brain keeps jumping to umpteen other things. Like eating a pineapple.

What the heck am I trying to say?

That I was not and am still not a fan of stand-alone meditation because in many ways I am doing it through every difficult task at hand as do most people and I like it that way.

That I am starting to like how even though yoga is supposed to be an India thing, India is moving from yoga to aerobics and to me, it signifies people wanting to pump up instead of being complacent, both in fitness and in life.

That I am starting to like pineapple and all the challenges that come with the cutting, peeling and some hand bleeding as well because I know there will be a band-aid in store for me somewhere.

That I can safely declare that if at all I move out of this place, I’m going to miss it and all the lunatics that live here.

“In India a farmhand was caught in the act with his cow. He said he had bad eyesight and thought it was his wife” – Spike Milligan

Now! Excuse me while I’m off to wonder about what other people think of India while I do some aerobics and sip some piña colada, mostly in that order.

 

One thought on “Pineapple India

Leave a Reply

