Unwritten rules of parenting


“If there were no schools to take the children away from home part of the time, the insane asylums would be filled with mothers” – Edgar Howe

After a very hectic & stressful move, I am finally getting back some of my enthusiasm for life amidst a whole lot of downward spiraling & depression. I wonder if I’m going through the “terrible twos” along with my son in my own way. With no one to hold my hand through and tell me where I’m going wrong and how I can make it better, I struggle to find some direction. But I do keep coming up with lists like this:

Unwritten rules of parenting

  1. The quote “people will forget what you said or did but will always remember how you made them feel” is more relevant to parenting than anything.
  2. Do good to your kids as you would have had your parents done to you.
  3. Actively listen. Respond. Don’t just react.
  4. Know when to respect them as your equal.
  5. Know when to see them as a kid.
  6. Know when to be a kid yourself.
  7. Respect their secrets & keep them.
  8. Do not judge.
  9. Quench their curiosity.
  10. Love them and be there always.

“Parenthood, it’s not a job. It’s an adventure!”

One thought on “Unwritten rules of parenting

  1. Parenting……. is a voyage……
    what ever we do, we almost always feel it is not enough or is it even right……
    ofcourse, the list is a good idea…. i too will try & mail you the effect after the try!
    drdwarak
    Mitran foundation- the stress management people
    life is beautiful…..
    happiness is (Y)our choice…….

    .. …. …….. …………….

Leave a Reply

