Nagala – One day dance & meditation resort


“…the moment my legs begin to move, my thoughts begin to flow” – Henry David Thoreau

Trekking to me is comparable to two things in life:

  • Meditation
  • Dance

Any activity done with the utmost concentration and passion is meditation. Any activity done with the most possible grace and elegance is dance. Trekking covers all this for me.

When I’m pondering over which rock to step on next I’m not worrying about the million things wrong with the world or the hundreds of chores waiting for me at home. I’m just trying to find a safer ground to set foot and nothing else. That to me is meditation. When I look at the group following each other in an orderly fashion, maintaining eye contact and keeping track of people behind you, I see a gracefulness in it. The movements that even fish would yearn to learn by swimmers and non-swimmers alike is elegance.

First time doing anything stays green in your memory forever. First day in school, first day in college, first crush, first kiss and so on. Nagala has the same effect in me every time I think about it – My first escapade with nature and outdoors in India. The pristine pools I jump in, the fabulous friends I make and all the singing, eating and fun I could cram in a day or two – that’s a new world I look forward to every single time.

Every time I hear a ‘ping’ in my mail application l get curious if it is a mail from CTC, ready to bring me another new experience with a new set of people. I surely hope all the first timers felt the same way about their experience in Nagala.

“You never climb the same mountain twice, not even in memory. Memory rebuilds the mountain, changes the weather, retells the jokes, remakes all the moves.” – Lito Tejada-Flores

Trekking – The friends you already know, the familiar faces in the crowd and the giggles only you know the meaning for because of some joke that happened weeks back. The new trekkers, new faces soon to become familiar and the acquaintances that would possibly be your friends for life.

 

 

The highlight of this one day trek for me was that I could have all the fun that is usually had in two days in just one. There were many other things that I could go on rambling about and the wonderful stories I would one day tell my grand kids:

  1. The organizers, photographers, their leadership & enthusiasm – Alex, Karmu, Karthik & Hari
  2. The greatest time I had & the anecdotes I shared with my sister after many years
  3. The wonderful family that gave us a ride to Nagala & back home – Geetha & Navneeth
  4. The entertainment I could provide others by taking forever to jump in the third pool
  5. The entertainment other swimmers & non swimmers provided with their own quirks and phobias – Rahul, Reshmi, Kirubha
  6. Many more names & faces that I can’t recollect but hope to know better in future.

Take away: Trekking makes you a close-knit family that knows each others likes, dislikes, strengths and weaknesses. Your friends will embarass you, but you can embarass them as well, you just have to figure out how and I promise I will. 🙂

What is your meditation & dance?

What did this one day trek mean to you?

What is your take away?

9 thoughts on “Nagala – One day dance & meditation resort

  1. Xllent writeup Sowmya!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    “Any activity done with the utmost concentration and passion is meditation”- Very Very True..

  2. Vishnu, Raj – Like I said, happy to entertain even though I didn’t intend to.

    Hari – Thank you. I did try to insert the text/upload the file etc in the forum, but it was too big, hence gave a link here.

    Karthik – Thanks. I’m sure you relate to those words because I see the passion in your pics 🙂

  3. Nice post. You’ve so simply told everything that was crammed up in my head. 😀
    That meditation and dance analogy was awesome 😀

    Was this the Nagala western entry trek that happened last Sunday?
    Oh.. Had I known you were there, I would’ve tried to come for it.

Leave a Reply

